Asian Self Hatred?

Dear Diary,

Link: Half Asian Self Hate

I just read the above blog post which really resonated with how I feel. As I replied in my blog post, I think in American culture and even Asian culture more broadly, Western Euro or “White” characteristics are privileged.  I myself have tried to accentuate my more White traits over my Asian traits, including avoiding the sun more to keep my skin lighter and bleaching my hair blonde every so often (which I am not the only Asian person to do- In fact there are even skin creams that are sold in the Asian market to help “lighten” the skin – and a parallel phenomenon happening in the black community with skin bleaching). i think a lot of this has to do with the socialization of the superiority of whites in society. Everything from growing up to playing with Blonde Barbie Dolls and seeing the American Symbols of Blonde Beauty like Marilyn Monroe, Britney Spears, Madonna, Taylor Swift – the American Sweet Hearts. Even in Asian communities, like in anime, main characters are white washed – such as Super Saiyans in Dragon Ball (they turn super to blonde hair blue eyed characters!), Sailor Moon (the princess/leader of the Sailor Scouts – who is white), Naruto (who is the main character in his self entitled anime – blonde hair blue eyes also), and Ichigo from Bleach (who is a redhead…not blonde but certainly not Asian).

image

When it comes to my romantic person life, this affected me in terms of how I date. I use to exclusively date white men and would constantly reject dating offers from Asian men, even though they were nice and probably great guys, all because there is a certain prestige associated with dating whites. It made me feel more assimilated into American society. In my mind, the end goal was always to marry a white man and have the 2.5 kids, house and white picket fence. I have been labeled as a “race traitor” and a “self hater” as a result. I don’t want to feel this way and I know it is wrong, but how can you fight how you feel, especially when you are bombarded with daily reminders and reinforcements of the dominant white culture? I think the image below demonstrates really how messed up the situation is and the sad part is, its quite accurate.

cartoon

33 thoughts on “Asian Self Hatred?

  1. lol. white boys are cucked, ugly and have smallest penis so white girls + asian girls dont want them. Thats why you see all the White girls sleeping with asian men and sleeping with asian penis and never see asian girls with white guys.

    White girls dedicate their own asian men worship sites where there are unlimited pics/videos of white girls sucking asian penis, swallowing asian seemen, letting asian men sit on their faces/mouths, licking asian men’s assshole, swallowing asian men’s spit, being a cumm dump for asian men and licking smegma off asian penises and even being pets for asian men to take on a leash for the world to see how sIutty and the nasty things they would do for their asian men. All there for all to see, nothing to hide.

    whitechickslovesasiandicks.tumblr.com

    Like

    • I myself have not seen anything like this. Most of my friends who are White often do not refer to Asians as their first preference. I think this is socially influenced of course. Think about all the models and actors who are deemed “hot” by the media and magazine, often is the case they are white. I think this influences how Asian Americans see whites and themselves. I will be making a separate post about this very issue in the future.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. This is a great, thought-provoking post. I am a white male, and have dated a few asian-american women, usually without considering these types of thoughts and feelings that she might be having. Hollywood seems to have a role in what you’re talking about as well. It’s strange how many “asian” roles are played by white people, even recently. I mean, 50 or 60 years ago it happened and was incredibly racist from what I know about it – and it’s still happening today (what the heck was up with Emma Stone in Aloha?)!! Anyways…looking forward to more entries!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Matt. Often white people don’t consider these issues or think the problems don’t exist (I guess that’s part of white privilege). While there is often discussion of the racism that black Americans face, because many Asian Americans are successful career wise and academically, I think America in general often isn’t aware of many of the issues we face – which is why I created this blog to allow us to have candid discussions.

      Like

      • I think Corey was being lightheartedly sarcastic; profane-ish as he is was. (This wasn’t a sexually explicit blog entry, so I wish he channeled his x-energy elsewhere, where it more appropriately belonged.)

        I also think that you perpetuate the very anti-Asian position that this article was meant to counter-act. You’re a white guy, and you’re unbashful to announce that you’ve benefited from Asian girls liking you. Regardless of whether or not that’s true, I don’t think being in our faces with what we already know are asian STEREOTYPES (“small-dicked virgins, nerdy musicians, etc.) is all that productively contributing to the discussion as hand.

        What exactly was your intention here? Does it in fact make you feel good to rashly push Asians aside for your egotistic self-entitlement?

        At any rate, I’m not proud of the things you said in your post, and I’m confident to say that many Asian guys are likely irritated at the same.

        Like

  3. I don’t know what Corey is talking about, the idea that he thinks whites are seen as ugly/small-dicked is laughable to me. I think the media shows Asians as generally nerdy and not really as attractive. For example, there are few famous Asian musicians and actors compared to their percentage of the population. Also Asians are way more likely than Whites in the US to date out of their race, that’s just a fact. Anyway, I know as a White guy that I’ve personally benefited from Asian girls specifically trying to get White people, as Asian guys struggle, being viewed as “small-dicked virgins”

    Like

    • I think you are right about the media representation. The whole idea that there are less famous Asian musicians/actors in America is spot on with what i’m saying about role models… and even heart throbs. I’ll work on the other topic for a future blog post that we talked about so stay tuned.

      Like

    • @Tom Gettzler
      I think Corey was being lightheartedly sarcastic; profane-ish as he is was. (This wasn’t a sexually explicit blog entry, so I wish he channeled his x-energy elsewhere, where it more appropriately belonged.)

      I also think that you perpetuate the very anti-Asian position that this article was meant to counter-act. You’re a white guy, and you’re unbashful to announce that you’ve benefited from Asian girls liking you. Regardless of whether or not that’s true, I don’t think being in our faces with what we already know are asian STEREOTYPES (“small-dicked virgins, nerdy musicians, etc.) is all that productively contributing to the discussion as hand.

      What exactly was your intention here? Does it in fact make you feel good to rashly push Asians aside for your egotistic self-entitlement?

      At any rate, I’m not proud of the things you said in your post, and I’m confident to say that many Asian guys are likely irritated at the same.

      Like

  4. Pingback: Am I a “Race Traitor?” – In the Mind and Soul of an Asian American Girl Growing up in America

  5. Looks like you are a typical bananarang. You got burnt by white men, you now realize that they only wanted you for sex. Also many of those beta losers only wanted you because they couldn’t get white women, an Asian woman is almost like a white woman, so they settled for you. Now you are looking for a nice wealthy Asian guy to settle down with because you are no longer young and don’t want to be single for the rest of you life.

    Like

  6. So you wrote this article and you obviously acknowledge there is an issue. So what are you gonna do about it? Are you going to start dating asian guys or are you gonna continue to dye your hair and try to be white? I am half white and half asian. Maybe one day you will have a kid like me. I don’t know you, but I hate you. My whole life asian girls have been racist to me for being asian, when they are asian too. Your sons will hate you as well. Some asian girl will say they remind her of her brother and he’ll only have to look at his mom to see what is really happening. Because it is obvious it isn’t about love, it’s because you have no backbone. How can you even be in a relationship when you can’t even look in the mirror and like what you see?

    And compared to an asian man you had life in America easy. You don’t even know what it means to experience racism.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Accents – The Publication of the Private Diaries of an Asian American Girl Growing up in America

  8. Pingback: White Washed Asian Americans – The Publication of the Private Diaries of an Asian American Girl Growing up in America

  9. Pingback: Why did I share this E-diary? – The Publication of the Private Diaries of an Asian American Girl Growing up in America

  10. Pingback: Preferences by Bay Area Women – The Publication of the Private Diaries of an Asian American Girl Growing up in America

  11. You mention you are a hapa. are you hapa from WMAF?

    what you think of this blog

    the problem with hapa reddit.

    their are biggest hypocrites I’ve ever seen since they are white worshipping, yet scream “white supremacy” from their parents. Yet they want to be full white and are upset that society can’t accept them as white from their white father. These white worshipping Eurasians could care less about Asian pride or AMAF relationships. They are just privileged and like to use their Asian heritage whenever it suits them. But they are white worshipping. Let’s be real, most Eurasians, (not all) do not have Asian pride or even understand Asian history. Don’t kid yourself, they only care about their own issuesET is bashing other races and putting white on a pedastal. it shameful that hes not breaking the chains of racism in his family This is why I stay away from eurasians or people mixed with white in general. They are the sickest culture vultures of all. Eurasians are the result of white supremacy so they love and love to be white. When they find many of asians are proud and happy their world come crumbling down. So they must go extra miles to put Asians in the bottom for their own sanity. They can’t handle it. Lol White Supremacy will long live with white mixed people after whites are all gone.

    Like

    • There is definitely seems to be a lot of “self hate” associated with the person whose blogged you shared as well. I subscribe to the view of the politics of desirability, and I believe a lot of that attraction or “worship” is related to social influences on our identity and our need to fit in/assimilate. Many of us can’t help feeling that way and are not even aware of the fact of why. My diary is meant to explore that issue and give a space for people to discuss. I don’t think its necessarily fruitful to “go the extra mile” to put down Asians though, but when Asians go the extra mile to insult us, it doesn’t bring about a useful resolution. I think dialogue and discussion is more effective than merely hating someone because of their views, not even trying to understand it.

      Like

      • I do agree there should be dialogues and a discussion. there should be more way of auto correct on fighting white supremacy I do notice hapa males tend obsession withe white women. The way Eurasian tiger view Asian women is wrong. He said if you are hapa males and is full asian your last resort is Asian women. By his logic if Asian women is last resort for hapa males who look full asian aren’t are they played themselves on hating their aside on hating Asian women and developed self hatred. some them hapa males wish their were AMWF and praised AWF. what really annoy me it when hes say AMWF get the most hatred or more than AMXF/AWXF. .I wanted thank you for sharing your experience on Pilleater interviews . I never heard of hapa women experiences how they life was like for them. would you do a podcast ? I would love to hear you.

        Like

      • I’m not sure what you mean. I did a podcast with Pilleater. And yes, I do feel there is a sexist hypocrisy. When Asian girls like White guys, it’s race traitoring, but when Asian guys date White girls, they are showing Asian pride but taking the White girls from the White men. It’s ridiculous.

        Like

  12. So this is your very first post ever in your diary? I’m glad I finally got to it. It seems like someone is paying too much attention to fantasy than reality. But who doesn’t like fantasy? Everyone does. Fantasy is the get-away place from reality. Your case seems to be one of those stories of fitting in. Since you can’t fit in, maybe you should stand out? Embrace yourself and both sides of your ethnicities – Irish and Japanese. However, this is something you have to figure out on your own or maybe with the help of others.

    I understand that blonde hair and blue eyes is the standard and norm of American beauty. You mentioned Marilyn Monroe, Britney Spears, and Taylor Swift as the norm. However keep in mind that those beauties also have some flaws of their own. Marilyn Monroe was a slut who slept with multiple guys, had multiple abortions, and died from drug overdose. Britney Spears could not get her life together and had multiple marriages and divorces. Taylor Swift? I don’t know much about her except for Kayne West interrupting her, “Taylor, I’mma let you finish but Beyonce had one of the best videos of all time.”

    Anime? Naruto is a Dumbass! Without great supporting characters like Sarutobi, Sasuke, Itachi, Jiraiya, and Kakashi, he be nothing. Don’t forget he’s also lucky enough to be an Uzumaki while also having the Nine Tails Fox’s power. What about Bleach? Ichigo is lucky he’s born special – a mix of Shinigami, Human, Quincy, and Hollow. Only because of his Hollow and Quincy powers were he able to get so far. And when he goes Final Getsuga Tensho form, what’s the color of his hair? It turned black and grew long.

    Blondes and blue-eyes can be interesting and unique among the American population but they’re not everything. 🙂

    Like

    • What do you mean by the fantasy? The anime? And yes a lot of the Asian characters – especially in America, are relegated to support casts – always the Bride’s maid never the bride type deal. That said, I do love Itachi.

      Like

      • I meant fantasy as an imagination. Fantasy means “to think and immerse yourself in your imagination of how everything is the way you want it to be.” What I meant is you put too much attention and admiration on the blondes and blue-eyes that you failed to realize their flaws. Maybe I could be wrong? Maybe there is no such thing as fantasy to you? Maybe your fantasy is just you being less compared to blondes and blue-eyes? And in your struggle to be like them, you can never come close enough.

        When I meant “anime?”, I was pointing out the flaws with the blonde characters like Naruto and Ichigo. They’re born lucky with special abilities but yet are also dumb enough not to put their special abilities to their best usage. Plot armor is what keeps these blonde characters from dying when they would have already been dead. To put it in simpler terms, Naruto and Ichigo are just for show. They are great but they’re not that great. The other characters made them greater. I dare suggest that the other characters are sometimes better than Naruto/Ichigo.

        Beauty is only skin deep and temporary. True beauty lies in the character and personality. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Pingback: Self-Hate Amplified – Making of Enemies out of Potential Allies? | Asian Aryanism

  14. Pingback: Social Support System for People Like Us | The Publication of the Private Diary of an Asian American Girl Growing up in America

  15. Pingback: Social Support System for People Like Us | Asian Aryanism

  16. Pingback: The Socialization of White Superiority is Worldwide – Even in Asian Countries | The Publication of the Private Diary of an Asian American Girl Growing up in America

  17. Pingback: The Socialization of White Superiority is Worldwide – Even in Asian Countries | Asian Aryanism

  18. Pingback: White God on Film | The Publication of the Private Diary of an Asian American Girl Growing up in America

Leave a Reply

