Silenced Again

Dear Diary,

Day two of my hunt for a new platform. Yesterday I had 3 posts made on YOMYOMF.

Screen Shot 2017-05-04 at 6.58.38 PM

Today, without warning or explanation, all three posts are removed. I am not sure why but I have emailed the staff asking for the reason and also reminding them how important voices like mine are. There are many Asians who feel the way I do, I know this because many have reached out and because I see them in society all the time, but our voices are often ignored and silenced.

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 1.32.20 PM.png

I wrote about this silencing from the Asian community before: https://asianamericangfonskype.wordpress.com/2017/03/30/no-love-from-my-own-community/

When I brought up  my views and perspective to Asian forums like r/Asian American on reddit I was banned.

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 1.18.11 PM

When I asked the moderator why I was banned and asked to be unbanned, I was muted from contacting them without any explanation or reason!

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 1.18.24 PM

Same deal at Aznidentity, when I told them I couldn’t post, they said it was just a glitch.

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 3.19.55 PM

When I told them that I still could not post and think that I have been banned from posting, I asked if they could remove me from the ban and I get muted. Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 3.19.41 PM

It seems they don’t want to acknowledge that it is happening or care about why we are affected the way we are or how we are coping with it. They try to silence people like us and act like we don’t exist, despite a growing number of minorities that act and feel the way I do – apparently across the world.

To use a prison analogy, don’t they realize that many gang prevention programs have former gangsters speak to the youth and that can be a great agent of change and progress? Being someone who used to claim only my White side, date exclusively White men and live a “White” life as much as can be, I can speak to those experiences that many are going through now, but it would help if I could find a supportive outlet that would listen to me and let me talk to the people. People like me shouldn’t made to be feel isolated and alone, our thoughts matter just as much as the echo chambers in the Asian American community forums. They say they appreciate diversity, but so far I am not seeing it. I hope some blog site will come and prove me wrong. I have submitted my work to two other Asian identity/activists sites so hopefully I will hear back soon.

 

 

6 thoughts on “Silenced Again

  1. To me it sounds like censorship. Something someone doesn’t want to hear or it opposes their views and they silence that view. Keep it up and little by little you will be heard

    Like

      • So one minute I’m not a real person, now I’m a guy despite the fact that tons of people know me? Since you want to play character analysis, let me tell you about you. Obviously you are a troll (why else would you come to my site and not only insult me but argue/insult my readers?), if you dislike/disagree with what I say, why would you simply just not read/ignore me? Either that or you are one of those upset or hurt individuals who can’t believe that there are Asian girls who actually are physically attracted/preference White Men. I’m sorry that the truth hurts, but it’s no reason to lash out on other people.

        Like

  2. I gotta jump in and stand up for azn here… we have had a lot of talks and she’s not a guy for sure! Her points are valid if not embraced.. I’m an Irish catholic kid from a neighborhood with a heroin problem.. when I was a kid I was put up for adoption and an amazing Jewish family took me in and raised me… however I’ve always felt out of place because I look different I sound different and my family before and after had far different goals! So her opinions may not be popular but to ignore the psychological effect of your upbringing and peer pressures is a disservice to your cause! Until there is dialogue there will always be misunderstanding.

    Like

Leave a Reply

