Happier

Dear Diary,

I love when music can touch you and the latest song to do so for me is “Happier” (see https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ROFzWrngbw). The song and video are so perfect (plus Captain America is in the video!).

maxresdefault

How many of us has had that/those ex(es) that we think about time to time, even when they are no good for us? The relationship was a roller coaster, unpredictable and often leading to drama- yelling and screaming, but at the same time, it made you feel so much, the adrenaline constantly pumping and those feelings etched in your heart forever.

Add to that complication is when you see that person with someone else that is better suited for them and you feel happy for them, but at the same time, jealous, sad, disappointed and relieved all at once. This song captures that feeling. With such powerful lyrics as:

“Saw you walk inside a bar
He said something to make you laugh
I saw that both your smiles were twice as wide as ours
Yeah, you look happier, you do….

Sat in the corner of the room
Everything’s reminding me of you, Nursing an empty bottle and telling myself, you’re happier aren’t you?…

But I guess you look happier, you do
My friends told me one day I’ll feel it too
I could try to smile to hide the truth
But I know I was happier with you”

rehost20169136d3ba8ad-1e8a-411d-afe6-fec3d06c9662

One thought on “Happier

Leave a Reply

